The Empowerment

This article is brought to us by a Young and Gifted brotha, In my humble opinion, he is a blessing to us all, Mr. Laymon Hicks. You can follow him on Twitter by clicking HERE and you can sign up to his Facebook page by clicking HERE. We thank you again for supporting “Guest Blog Week”.

Welcome to The Empowerment Restaurant, where the food is so good we have your lips smackin’. Here at The Empowerment Restaurant we aim to assist our customers by finding the food to cure their hunger. Our food will help you transform your mind, body, and soul. Today our meal includes an appetizer, entrée, and dessert and it will focus on the activation of your passion to serve your purpose. However, before you digest this food, please remember that passion and purpose are one. As you discover your purpose, you will notice that it is something you are overwhelmingly passionate about. As you activate your passion, you will ultimately serve your purpose.

 

The Appetizer

 

What is purpose?  Merriam-Webster Dictionary defines purpose as “something set up as an object or end to be attained.”  Let’s take a closer look.  When you were born you were blessed with amazing qualities, unique talents and through the years of your life, you have had incredible experiences.  These qualities, talents, and experiences form what we call your purpose.  We all have a purpose in life because we have all been blessed with a unique gift or special talent.  Within our unique gift or special talent, we share a common thread— using our gifts and talents to serve others.

What is passion?  Passion has many definitions, but to me passion is a way of believing.  Passion – real passion for who you are, who you are becoming, where you are, and where you are going, what you believe in, stand for and would die for – shouts to the world: “I am here to stay.  I am here to make a difference.  I will leave my mark in this world. It may take me my entire life, but I will not give up until my purpose and destiny are realized and fulfilled.” Who do you know who is passionate about something? Anything?  I am passionate about seeing teenagers be the best they can be.  I am passionate about showing people how to ignite that fire that is within them.

In order to ignite that fire inside of you, you must ask yourself “What should I do with my life?” So many of us go through life never asking ourselves this question or we ask ourselves this question, but never answering it. I understand that this question is not one that can be answered in a short amount of time.  I understand its difficulty.  It took me a while to find my answer, but eventually it was revealed to me. However, what I do not understand is how some of people go through life never finding what their true purpose is, and no, I am not talking about the one your parents had for your life.  I am talking about your destiny, what you feel your mission on this Earth is to do.  I propose a challenge to you. I challenge you to ask yourself this question everyday until your answer surfaces. Here are some tips to make this process easier:

  1. Determine who you want to be.  Instead of concentrating on what you want to do, decide who you want to be.  This should be the guide to your choices in life.
  2. Listen to your inner voice.  The answers you want in life will often come in the form of a whisper or at an unexpected event or time.  This takes practice to hear your true desires.  In the end, you will be reminded or made aware of what’s important and what makes you happy.
  3. Acknowledge misfortune.   What are you doing with your free time? Are you spending it on things you love? Evaluate your happiness. A key to living a purposeful life is seeing what makes you feel fulfilled.
  4. Explore possibilities.  Your passions can lead you down various pathways to find joy and contentment. Search deep within your life and discover the things that bring you happiness.
  5. Disregard the voice of the world.  Finding your purpose in life could mean going against the advice of close friends, family members, and mentors. Just take a leap of faith and trust your dreams.
  6. Have faith in transformation.  Life is meant to be a challenge and you are going to fall, but you were born with the willpower to get back up. One of my mentors, Delatorro L. McNeal, II, states, “Life challenges are strength-builders for later struggles we will encounter.” As you go through challenges, do not be afraid to modify your life because of your experiences. Take your challenges and create new circumstances.
  7. Take the next step.  Fate doesn’t happen overnight. It happens when you are willing to leave your comfort zone—that zone where you have been stagnant awaiting success. Get prepared to make some changes in life… The time is NOW!
  8. Have patience.  Results won’t come in two hours or overnight.  Be patient.  Stick with your purpose to find your answer and take steps at making it happen.

The Entrée

Congratulations on eating the full appetizer. Did you leave any room for the main course and dessert? I sure hope so.

As you digested the appetizer, you were provided with a strategy to help you answer one of the most unanswered questions. At the prime age of 20, I have asked myself that question for the longest time and finally I have come up with my answer. In my life, I want to be able to inspire younger students and teenagers through determination, passion, and wisdom (my purpose). Even more, I want to use my God-given gift of speaking (my passion) to motivate individuals to be the best they can be.  Now that I know what I want to do and have found my passion,

I am living it.

In order to live my passion, I currently follow a routine that has me on track to serve my purpose. I plan to share this routine with you, but before I do, you must stop what you are doing and prepare for what’s next. Friends, in my experience, I have noticed that we often travel through life with our activation switch OFF. I am assuming that you are tired of traveling that way because you have either bought a copy of this book or received it as a gift. Therefore, to ensure that you activate your passion to serve your purpose, it is time for you to turn your activation switch to ON.

Is it on yet?

What about now?

Ok, good!

Well, now that we are traveling together down the road less traveled, let me share with you the routine I follow to live my passion. As you achieve your purpose, you must become someone new. Today is the day for you to adopt the V.I.B.E.S mentality!

Visionary.

It.

Bumblebee.

Eliminator.

Self-Pleaser and a Service.

I know you are thinking, what exactly does V.I.B.E.S. means and do you adopt this mentality.  Let me explain!

Become a Visionary:  Remember those visions, those dreams, those goals that you buried because you felt they were not realistic.  There were times where I had visions that I saw for myself, but let them go because I did not think it was practical.  There were little visions, such as approaching a girl and asking her to be my Valentine, and there were big visions, such as graduating after being dismissed from the National Honor Society for cheating or even mustering up the courage to run for Student Body President on a college campus of over 38,000 students.  As you can imagine, some of my visions were accomplished and some were not.  Those that I achieved I did because I believed in them.  Folks, your visions, your dreams, your goals can come true, but you must be willing to believe in them.  Take Dr. King and his dream.  He saw to it that “his four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”  I vision myself living my passion and inspiring youth, but not only do I see it, I believe it.

Become It: Walk the walk and talk the talk.  Take your passion and become it.  Talk about your passion because the more you talk about it, the more real it becomes, and the more possibilities you will notice that will help you serve your purpose.  As you become it, you will notice that you are more detailed, and as you are more detailed, you will notice that opportunities to live your passion will unexpectedly appear.  Becoming your passion increases the chance of finding someone who has the right information or connection for you, or can just steer you in the right path.

Become a Bumblebee: Ever heard of the rule of the bumblebee? According to the laws of aerodynamics and mathematics, it is impossible for bumblebees to fly. Unfortunately, the bumblebee is able to fly and has done so since its existence. Folks, you are going to be told your passion is impossible; live it anyway. If I received a dollar each time someone has told me “it’s impossible” or “that’s unachievable” I would be a millionaire right now. Most successful business people and entrepreneurs were told what they wanted to accomplish was “impossible,” but they were a bumblebee and proved the world wrong. Live your passion by becoming a bumblebee.

 

Become an Eliminator: In life, there are always crucial sacrifices that need to be made. Many of us are not where we want to be academically, socially, physically, emotionally, or spiritually and that’s because we have people or things holding us back. What are necessities in your life? Is it important that you have 1,000 friends on an internet social site? Is it important that you work with people or are you content working alone? Is it important that you have the newest material things, or are you comfortable having possessions that are years old? In order to live your passion, you have to eliminate those things that are not necessities, those things holding you back.

Become a Self-Pleaser and a Service: We are not here to please others. We can’t do what others want us to do. We have to do what brings us joy. You have to live your passion and not anyone else’s. You will find that as you are pleasing yourself by living your passion, you develop the skills and knowledge to be a service to others. Additionally, being a self-pleaser and living your passion creates a better atmosphere. When you stop focusing on trying to please others and tap into your passions and purpose, you ultimately become a service to others. In order to get, you have to give. Therefore, give abundantly!

This is my routine to activate my passion to serve my purpose.  As you can imagine, sometimes black clouds try to rain on my sunny day, but as long as I stick to V.I.B.E.S, I will be fine.  Apply to your life what you can and I promise when you refocus and become V.I.B.E.S that your world will feel a whole lot better.  I hope I haven’t fed you too much because we still have dessert to go.  I’m only steps away from putting the icing on the cake.

The Dessert

I know, I know.  I’m sure your stomach is aching from all the food you have digested.  However, I just want to share a little more information with you and you can go take a nap, because I am sure all this food has made you tired.  I get like that after I eat too.  J

Within this chapter, I hope that you were filled with the knowledge to activate your passion and find your true life purpose. A life purpose is the container in which you pour your life, an organization in which you provide your time and your resources, that in which you find happiness and create it for others.  Your life purpose is more about what you bring to life, than what you do. Your life purpose is that which can shape you.

If you ever begin to start losing your passion, here are a few guidelines to help you receive it back.

  1. Count your blessings.
  2. Manage your opportunities.
  3. Eliminate old baggage.
  4. Live with an attitude of gratitude.
  5. Do what you love, not what others want you to do.
  6. Love yourself as you are.

Congratulations!!!!!  You have just found out how to activate your passion to serve your purpose in Laymon’s terms.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Empowerment”
  1. Chrystal says:

    LOVE IT!!!!!! Laymon, this is a great article, I am really inspired by these words! I know that meal filled me up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

